Mission #1 — Here it goes…

  • I’ve been a high school math teacher for the past 12 years. I currently teach Algebra, Probability & Statistics, and Trigonometry. I loved math in school and I still do. The most enjoyable thing about my job is working with young students and watching them ‘get’ things. 
  • My favorite problem to do with my classes is MysteryPlots. Students are given eight different unlabeled scatterplots and eight different pairs of variables. Students need to determine which variables match which scatterplots. I’ve been doing this problem for a while. I should probably do some updating to it. 
  • What makes my class mine…. I’ve been teaching for a while now, and I don’t think I’ve found that one big thing that has stuck throughout the years. Or at least I can’t think of it right now. I do take pride in trying new things, and trying to be innovative. 
  • What brought me to MTBoS? A co-worker actually sent me a link to check it out. I’ve been on twitter following some mathy bigwigs and I’ve been inspired to get on the bandwagon. Also, I just want to be a better teacher. 

 

8 thoughts on “Mission #1 — Here it goes…

  1. I like the sound of “MysteryPlots”–is this from a website or did you create this yourself? If you did create it, I’m sure other teachers would love to see some of it: you could put it in your blog using something like scribd.com. Thanks for posting!
    -jonathan newman

  2. You sound a lot like me…except for the liking math in school part. I have developed a liking for it over time. So glad to see you out here in the blogosphere! I look forward to collaborating with you!

  3. This MysteryPlot thing needs a little more detail… I’d like to know what you’re doing with it! Thank you for sharing and I look forward to following up on your blog.

  4. Hey, Mystery Plots sounds great! I teach all English learners, and sorting and matching activities are usually super successful – they work with so many different topics, and it’s just fun to move the little bits of paper around!

Leave a Reply

