Let’s be honest here

I love math and I love kids yes that part is true. But after teaching for eleven years… I thought it would get easier. Let me assure you it is not. This girl works hard for her money!

The paradigm shifts so frequently in education, especially math. I feel like I’m constantly learning something new and constantly tweaking what I’m teaching. Now this is not a bad thing. Just seriously not what 10 years ago me expected. I started teaching in a school that was using the Core Plus curriculum (albeit not always in the appropriate manner). Then taught 5-12 math with a very different curriculum (Saxon). And now in my current position we’re kind of in limbo pushing for problem solving and STEM.

Anyhow, the point of this post is that I thought it would get easier. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very happy with my job. But the 10 years ago me needs to know that a teacher’s workload will never decrease, whereas time put in seems to ALWAYS increase. I feel like I’m always trying to make things better. No matter how many years I’ve taught the same class, I never teach it the same way.

But let’s be honest here, I seriously thought I would be able to simply put in 40 hours each week with my summers off. Somebody needs to tell the 10 years ago me how naive she is.

One thought on “Let’s be honest here

  1. In all honesty, you could just put in your 40 hours each week and enjoy those summers for every day of sunshine and vacation that exists. You could rely on your previous 10 years of experience, roll out lessons that you know worked in years past, and do a pretty good job, using your experience as your litmus test to know what kids need and want. You could avoid getting involved in the growth mindset because, after all, you know what you’re doing. However, you don’t. You put in the extra time because, as you’ve gained experience, you’ve gained the understanding that you didn’t know as much as you thought in that first year, two, or ten of teaching. You realize every year that there is something better, something more relevant to the standard, the topic, the student, that you need to incorporate. For them. Not you. Because of that, you are the reason why kids like to come to school.

Leave a Reply

